Sign Up For Updates & New Blog Posts Delivered Straight To Your Inbox

Feature Friday : Vintage Reads

Welcome to Feature Friday, this week's feature is on two books based in the early 1900s post-war and to me they seem like a lovely genre to read. We are fascinated by watching Downton Abbey, and Mr Selfridge - I know it's not just me! So I thought it would be nice to share in time for Mothers Day here in the UK a couple of books - one available to buy now, and one available to pre-order. 

First up is the brillaint author; Lyn Andrews with From Liverpool With Love 



Published: 12 March 2015

Publisher: Headline 

Format: Hardback / eBook 



I think the covers of these books look utterly delightful. 

There is a strong sense of history, and a warmth of knowing that by reading these books, although fiction, largely inspired by the times our ancestors lived in, that we will never forget our history. 

So, shall we take a look at what Lyn has written about in this new release? 

Book Description: ~ 

A heartwarming Liverpool saga from the bestselling author of THE HOUSE ON LONELY STREET and LIVERPOOL ANGELS for readers of Dilly Court and Katie Flynn

In 1920s Liverpool, Jane, her little brother Alfie and their mother Ellen have faced the horrors of the workhouse together. But when Ellen dies, two very different paths open up for the siblings.
Jane is sent to work in the Empire Laundry and builds a new life for herself with the neighbours who take her in. She finds solace there and the promise of a happy future when she falls for Joe, their eldest son.

But Alfie absconds from the workhouse and embarks on a life of crime. When their paths cross once more, Alfie turns on his sister. His plans will jeopardise every happiness she hoped for…

I actually can't wait to read this one myself, and I think that it will perhaps pull at my heart-strings a little. 

Next up is Anne Baker with Wartime Girls - this makes me think of my Nan. 




Published: 9 April 2015

Publisher: Headline

Format: Paperback/eBook/Hardback 

Price: £6.99



Oh doesn't the baby look beautiful? I am BIG on the covers of books. If i'm honest, if the cover doesn't look pretty enough i'm not interested. 

Book Description: 

Set in Liverpool during the Depression and the Blitz of the Second World War, Anne Baker's dramatic saga brings a close-knit community vividly to life.
It is the day of the Grand National, 1933, when Susie Ingram's fiance, Danny, is killed in a tragic accident. In a cruel twist of Fate, Susie discovers she is carrying Danny's child and, shunned by his parents, she turns to her mother for support. 

Louise Ingram, widowed during the First World War, knows how hard it is to bring up a family alone, but with the help of her eldest daughter, Martha, who lives next door, they manage to survive. When little Rosie is born there is no doubt that she is Danny's daughter, but it is destined to take many more years of heartache before the two families are united again...


So there you have this weeks Feature Friday books. Please let me know if you've read anything by these authors, read these books and what you think of them. We love your sharing of book love, and we love to hear your recommendations! 


No comments