Sign Up For Updates & New Blog Posts Delivered Straight To Your Inbox

Game of Scones by Samantha Tonge



Title /Author - Game of Scones by Samantha Tonge 

Published by -  Carina UK 

Format - eBook on Kindle 

Current Price - £1.49 

Pages - 384 


A Page of Love Rating



A story of icing and flour…and how love doesn’t always go to plan!

Growing up, Pippa Pattinson’s summers were spent in the idyllic Greek island fishing village of Taxos. There she spent many long hazy days determinedly ignoring thoughts of the life her parents had mapped out for her (a dreary-but-secure accounting job and obligatory sensible husband!) Instead she daydreamed of running her own tea shop – serving the perfect scones – with mocha-eyed childhood friend Niko by her side…

Arriving back in Taxos for the first time in years, with suave boyfriend Henrik, Pippa barely recognises the tired little town – but is relieved to catch glimpses of the quaint, charming village she’s always loved. Together Niko and Pippa put together a proposal to save Taxos from tourist-tastic ruin, and at the heart of their plan is Pippa’s dream project: The Tastiest Little Tea Shop in Taxos. It’s time for Pippa to leave her London life behind and dust off her scone recipe that’s guaranteed to win over both locals and visitors. And amidst the rolling pins and raisins, it seems romance is blossoming where she’s least expecting it…

Don't miss this sizzling new summer read from bestselling author Samantha Tonge, perfect for fans of Mistletoe MansionAlways the Bridesmaid and Summer at Shell Cottage


DAWN'S THOUGHTS 

To say that I LOVED this book would be a huge understatement. I always get scared of writing reviews for books that I have LOVED this much because I fear that I'll never be able to comprehend just how brilliant the book is (Ugh even the word 'brilliant' doesn't seem magnificent enough!), and that I'll completely fail in reviewing the book in the energy that it deserves to be captured in. But I will try my best to do so. 

I found Pippa to be utterly adorable, and someone whom I could easily become friends with. She was honest, loyal, and so funny that I found myself laughing out loud when she took the reader on minuscule fantasy scenes - at one point I was fist punching the air in glee ... until I realised it was Pippa teasing us again.  

I knew there was something very special about this book when I first saw the title and then the author - and I can categorically say that Samantha has NOT failed us in this summer sizzler of a read. If I were jetting off and needed a beach read I would absolutely choose this one because it has the right dose of sun, fun, passion and humour that I feel is necessary for a summer read.

I love that Pippa is a high flying financial businesswoman (power to us ladies right!) who is not too proud or stuck in her 'City of London' ways to relax and enjoy the Taxos traditions that take her and us right back to her childhood. Nikos is dreamy ... seriously swoon-worthy and totally up there on my 'book boyfriend' list. I can easily see why any female would drool after him... I know I did! Henrik, Pippas long term boyfriend from London is a very business orientated guy, and I agree with Pippa that he does in theory seem 'perfect' but jeez where is his passion?! I couldnt help but think of the character in Holby City called 'Henrik Hansen' (who by the way is back on our screens in Holby City on Tuesday... ahem) whenever Henrik appeared on the page. 


Focusing more on the storyline I loved how Samantha weaved in the twists and turns of romance and deciding upon Pippa's future with the future of Taxos amid the economic downturn and the rolling in of big wig company fat cats wanting to make a quick buck. Pippa really is the girl next door and you can sense her emotional loyalty to the people of Taxos with whom she spent her childhood summer with. When their future is threatened she feels it too in her heart, and it with her heart that she listens to when she steps up and helps the villagers in their attempt to save it from becoming some distasteful club 18-30 fake tourist attraction full of franchises selling kebabs and what-not. 

I loved that the popular theme of a tea shop featured again, but in a totally original setting - Taxos, and yep you guessed it, the main attraction was the scones made by Pippa - I swear I had to go out and buy scones to enjoy with the book. Although the fillings Pippa had in hers were far more delightful than mine. Game of Scones is a mouth-watering Summer delight that simply cannot be missed! 

With a dodgy mayor and a boyfriend she barely recognises, Pippa does everything she can to keep Taxos pure. However with Nikos being engaged to Leila, and Pippa finding it hard to not like her, she struggles to keep her feelings for Niko secret. But Pippa's not the only one keeping secrets, and don't they always have a habit of coming out? 

In the end, it's Pippa's heart that she went to to Taxos to attempt to sort out, and when there's nothing else that can be done, will she honour the heart that has led her back to where it all began? 

I seriously urge you all to order your copy now, get it on your kindle and start reading. You will NOT be disappointed. Game of Scones is my favourite Summer Read for 2015 so far, and will most definately be in my top 5 summer reads for 2015! 

1 comment

  1. Wow. That review means an awful lot, thanks so much, I am thrilled you enjoyed it so much! xx

    ReplyDelete