Sign Up For Updates & New Blog Posts Delivered Straight To Your Inbox

Book Review: How to Get a Love Life by Rosie Blake





Title: How to Get a Love Life by Rosie Blake

Published by: Novelicious Books

RRP/Availability: £0.79 on Kindle

Rating: 5/5








THE BLURB


A feel-good, hilarious romcom for the summer! Perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane, Lucy Robinson and Lindsey Kelk.

Some people book last-minute holidays, walk barefoot in the grass or party on a week night. Not Nicola Brown. Nicola is the kind of girl who double-locks the front door, leaves the plastic covering on new furniture, sticks to a super-strict diet and definitely, absolutely Does Not Date.


Her colleague Caroline – loopy, warm and exasperated by her, knows that Nicola’s reluctance to lose control means she’s living only half a life. And so she lays down the gauntlet: Nicola must cast aside her hang ups and go on as many dates as it takes to find true love in time for Valentine’s Day.

The pick of local men is, quite frankly, a bit rubbish. And there are only three months until February 14th. Surely it’s an impossible task? But, as Nicola is about to find out on her dodgy dates, letting go isn’t quite as scary as she imagined.

In fact, it’s rather a lot of fun…


MY OPINION

OMG What a hoot!

I love this book to the moon and back because for me, Rosie has created a character; Nicola who represents the single ladies everywhere who have failed dates, and are wondering whether they should give up on love or not.

Nicola, who works at an talent agency has this amazing work colleague and friend, Caroline who has two young children and really wants Nicola to be happy in love, so she sets her the challenge of finding a date for Valentines day. The calendar gets marked and the plan of action begins being put into place. I love how Caroline sneakily asks these questions of Nicola that result in an online dating profile being filled out.

Once word of Nicola's dating mission gets underway, everyone is in on the act... her brother Mark starts setting her up on blind dates that obviously go horribly wrong, her Mother has opinions on men, and her boss, James becomes intrigued with her .... dates... especially an actor who is on the agency's books.

But James has a girlfriend... super glam Thalia.... or does he? Well he seems to, she's always checking up on him.

Nicola's "Find a date for valentines" mission takes her to new experiences and places that she never thought of doing; carpentry class, eating a fry up in a café after reading the football news in the newspaper (that WAS upside down), and even booking a singles holiday!

The question is, Does Nicola get a date for Valentines day?

I urge you to read it and find out! You'll have plenty of giggles along the way.

No comments