Sign Up For Updates & New Blog Posts Delivered Straight To Your Inbox

Blog Tour | It's Not You, It's Them by Portia MacIntosh





Hello, 
Today I am taking part in the blog tour for "It's Not You, It's
Them" 
by Portia MacIntosh and am I so pleased that Portia has written a
 little guest post for us all to enjoy about 
Writing 'Grown-Up' Fairy Tales. Of course we also have the 
details and links you need to get yourself a copy of It's Not You,
 It's Them which is all found below. But first, I want to hand 
over to Portia. 

When I was a kid, I would love reading fairy tales. Even now, as an
adult, I am a sucker for a good romance. It’s no surprise that 
writing books is a dream come true for me, because it means that I
 get to invent my own love stories for other people to enjoy
.
Fairy tales are a big source of inspiration for me, that’s why, when
 I was writing It's Not You, It’s Them, I wanted an opening chapter
 that paid tribute to them.

I had my Cinderella character (dressed as Harley Quinn) and my
 Prince Charming (dressed as Heath Ledger’s Joker in his nurse 
outfit) meet at a (charity) ball. Cinders didn’t think she was special
 enough for the prince, and in classic fairy tale style, she flees the
 scene, leaving her glass slipper (well, baseball bat) behind her. My
 prince travels to all the houses (media outlets) in the land (city) to
 find the girl (journalist) who left her slipper (bat) behind.

You do have to tweak what you write, to write a fairy tale for 
‘grown ups’ though. For starters, you have to throw a little sex into
 the mix. The fairy tales we know and love don’t have any funny
 business, but adults like a little funny business with their romance 
(because that’s real life) so we have to work that into there. The 
same goes for swearing, it’s just a part of adult life that you can’t
 really avoid – even if you don’t swear yourself, we’ve all got that
 one friend who throws around F-bombs like confetti at a wedding.

I do have to make my stories more realistic than a fairy tale, but I 
don’t think that means losing the magic. Falling in love is magical.
It’s such a wonderful feeling and it doesn’t matter how much
 realism surrounds it.

I love a fairy tale even more now as a grown-up than I did as a
 young girl, probably because not only does it give you an avenue
 of escape from the real world, but you do get the joy of reading the
 sex scenes. I've loved reading about Portia's thought process when 
writing fairy tales for the adult audience, and reading that alone 
makes you want to read the book doesn't it? Shall we have a look at
 what it's about and where you can get your copy from? Let's take a 
peek then. 

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01J0W743E/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&tag=lovereadroma-20&camp=1789&creative=9325&linkCode=as2&creativeASIN=B01J0W743E&linkId=6d191e1449d353bea4078b78211b29b6
From the Blurb:

An irresistible, feel-good romance, perfect for fans of Rosie Blake, Sophie Kinsella and Lindsey Kelk.

First comes love. Then comes family…

After a lifetime of kissing frogs, Roxie Pratt has given up on finding her own fairytale romance. That is, until she meets her very own Prince Charming, Mark Wright, and he sweeps Roxie off her feet!

So when Mark finally gets down on one knee and pops the question, there’s only one thing left to do: meet the family! And when everything has been picture-perfect so far, what could possibly go wrong…?

Add on Goodreads
Pre-order Links: Amazon | Amazon UK 

About the Author:

Portia MacIntosh has been 'making stuff up' for as long as she can remember - or so she says. Whether it was blaming her siblings for that broken vase when she was growing up, blagging her way backstage during her rock chick phase or, most recently, whatever justification she can fabricate to explain away those lunchtime cocktails, Portia just loves telling tales. After years working as a music journalist, Portia decided it was time to use her powers for good and started writing novels. Taking inspiration from her experiences on tour with bands, the real struggle of dating in your twenties and just trying to survive as an adult human female generally, Portia writes about what it's really like for women who don't find this life stuff as easy as it seems.

Author Links: Website Facebook Twitter Goodreads

No comments