Sign Up For Updates & New Blog Posts Delivered Straight To Your Inbox

Blog Tour | The Christmas Promise



Today I am so grateful to be hosting the blog tour for the new Sue Moorcroft book The Christmas Promise.

Social media has been sharing this book with the hashtag #MyPromise and whilst I had originally planned on reviewing the book, the universe had other ideas, so I have something a little different for you.

First, let's look at what the book's about so we know what we can look forward to when we read it.



Countdown to Christmas with your new must-have author, as you step into the wonderful world of bespoke hat-maker Ava Bliss…
For Ava Bliss, it’s going to be a Christmas to remember…
On a snowy December evening, Sam Jermyn steps into the life of bespoke hat maker Ava. Sparks fly, and not necessarily the good ones.
Times are tough for Ava – she’s struggling to make ends meet, her ex-boyfriend is a bully, and worst of all, it’s nearly Christmas.
So when Sam commissions Ava to make a hat for someone special, she makes a promise that will change her life. She just doesn’t know it yet…
Curl up with this gorgeous, festive read – the perfect treat for fans of Katie Fforde, Carole Matthews and Trisha Ashley



So, I mentioned earlier that the universe had different plans for my posting here today and I'm actually pleased about it. So, I received a proof copy of the book to read, and as I usually do, I flipped through it when I got it and felt excited to read it. But then as I was flipping certain words stood out to me in the way they do as you flip through a book. And these words triggered me. They triggered my anxiety, and I knew then I wouldn't be able to do the book justice in my review. So I asked out loud, "What can I do? I don't want to let everyone down?" And I forgot about it or a week.

During this time I did think more and more about my triggers to anxiety which are; death, chemo, cancer, etc. You see my lovely readers, we're approaching a year since I lost my Auntie to Cancer just before Christmas, and all year even hearing the word cancer has resulted in me having a panic attack or an anxiety filled moment (or few) which triggered health anxiety in me. It has just seemed that everywhere you look or listen cancer is there, and I have on more than one occasion lost my temper with it all. I pick up a magazine to escape, the same with a book, or when you switch on the tv. Sometimes, some of us don't need that constant reminder. Sometimes we have that reminder every day whether we want it or not.

Everyone I speak to, and especially medical professionals such as doctors say that this is a normal part of bereavement, that fearing illness yourself, or illness of loved ones, is normal after losing someone, especially when we've lost them to cancer or some other form of sudden or terminal illness. I will add that it doesn't stop me feeling weird about it. It's not 'normal' for me, or at least it wasn't, but now at least for the time being it is. 

As you can imagine, when I flipped through the book and saw the words chemo and cancer, and fundraising,  it really threw me. I applaud Sue for writing such a touching and emotive story - even without reading it, it touched me. So, I thought that my blog post for the tour could focus on the Promise side to Christmas. 




I promise this christmas to enjoy christmas day as much as I can in honour of my loved ones who are no longer here as cancer took them far too soon; Auntie Tracy, Nan (Annie-May), Dad, Uncle Cliff, Auntie Iris, and Loved Ones who sadly have passed and loved Christmas; Auntie Doris, Grandpops, 'Uncle' David (recently passed this past week). 


I promise to focus on my wellbeing and work towards making my dreams come true, the dreams we all spoke about for myself. 

I promise to make you all proud. 

I promise to never forget you, or stop loving you. 


I hope my post hasn't been a disappointment to you lovely readers, and if you feel inspired by my post to think of a promise you can make this christmas, then you can either comment below starting with "I Promise..." or you can share on social media using #mypromise. 

Paperback is out 1st December 2016, and ebook/kindle version is out now. Just use the link below xxx 




No comments